If I had a dollar for every time I have been asked that question!
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and some oats. It is found in most cereals and many types of breads.
It is amazing what contains gluten.
Check this out…..
- Abyssinian Hard (Wheat Triticum duran)
- Avena (wild oat)
- Barley (Hordeum Vulgare)
- Barley malt, barley extract
- Beer, ale, porter, stout, other fermented beverages
- Blue Cheese**
- Bread flour
- Bulgur (bulgur wheat, bulgur nuts)
- Cereal (cereal extract, cereal binding)
- Cracker meal
- Einkorn, wild einkorn***
- Emmer, wild emmer***
- Edible starch
- Flour (Including but not limited to: all-purpose, barley, bleached, , bread, brown, durum, enriched, gluten, graham, granary, high protein, high gluten, oat, wheat, white)
- Gluten, Glutenin
- Graham Flour
- Hordeum, Horderum vulgare
- Hydrolyzed oat starch, hydrolyzed wheat gluten, hydrolyzed wheat protein
- Kamut ***
- Malt, malt beverages, malt extract, malted milk, malt flavoring, malt syrup, malt vinegar
- Matzo (Matzah)
- MIR (wheat, rye)
- Miso (may contain barley)
- Mustard powder**
- Oats, oat bran, oat fiber, oat gum, oat syrup*
- Oriental wheat
- Rice malt, rice syrup, brown rice syrup**
- Soy Sauce**
- Sprouted wheat
- Vital gluten
- Wheat, wheat berry, wheat bran, wheat germ, wheat germ oil, wheat grass, wheat gluten, wheat starch, whole wheat berries
** May be made with wheat *** Types of wheat
There has been some question about oats. Regularly commercially available oats are frequently contaminated with wheat or barley. It is best to avoid them.
+Information obtained from University of Chicago Medical Center website.Tweet