When I was a little girl, I so used to look forward to my candy from the Easter Bunny. I especially remember the big creme filled eggs from Chicago’s own Fannie May Candies and getting a chocolate bunny and jelly beans. Peeps were always a favorite too. I remember celebrating Easter in the hospital after my son was born in 2001 and it was a special moment when my mom and sisters showed up with Easter candy for me…especially Peeps. I was not yet diagnosed with Gluten-Intolerance so I enjoyed all kinds of candy back then. Oh the memories……
I was pleasantly surprised to see some of my favorite chocolate candies on the 2011 Gluten-Free Easter Candy List brought to you by MyGlutenFacts.com. There are Easter candy offerings by Reese’s, M&Ms and Hersheys and not to mention Peeps that are gluten-free! Yes, that’s right…Peeps are gluten-free peeps!! I see they now offer Chocolate Mousse flavored Peeps which sounds heavenly! Here is the definition of Peeps from Urban Dictionary, I thought this was a hoot! Marshmallow candies in the shape of rabbits and baby chickens. Usually served around Easter. Also short for “people”. I love watching what happens when you put Peeps in the microwave too. Fun times!
Also, did you know that Jelly Belly’s jelly beans are gluten-free? They sure are! I recently took my son on a tour of their Pleasant Prairie, WI center. I bought quite a bit after discovering they are gluten-free. A most awesome discovery!
They diligently put this list together and gave each candy a status rating:
Cleaned Production Line (CL)
These products do not contain any gluten but are made using the same equipment as products that do.
The manufacturer assures us that they consider gluten a top allergen and therefore clean the equipment
between runs to ensure that these products are safe from cross-contamination
Dedicated Production Line (DL)
These products do not contain gluten and are made with machinery that only processes foods without
gluten. The manufacturer assures us that they consider gluten a top allergen and therefore take the
necessary steps to ensure that these products are safe from cross-contamination
Dedicated Facility (DF)
These products do not contain gluten and are made in a building where there is no gluten in any other product.
For a complete list of the candy that is gluten-free please click on the link below:
Happy Easter to you all!